Invest like a legend: Stephen Jarislowsky

05.06.2011 21:23

Invest like a legend: Stephen Jarislowsky

FIRST INVESTMENT: It was in stocks, when I was in business school after the war. Reynolds Metals went up very sharply, and then for a long time did nothing. Abbott Laboratories went up year after year, and increased the dividend. United Airlines went up and down like a roller coaster, and I finally sold it when a merger was announced.

WORST INVESTMENT: Buying International Asbestos in 1953, which went broke after no one wanted asbestos any more. It was really a promotion on the Montreal Stock Exchange. It was as bad as anything.

BIGGEST OPPORTUNITY NOW: I would buy something with a good yield, that raises the dividend every year, has excellent management and is a leader in a stable industry, which operates all over the world. A stock like a tobacco stock or a liquor stock or McDonald’s or Procter & Gamble—something like that.

WHAT KEEPS ME AWAKE AT NIGHT: The fact that I’m getting older. I’m 85. Only about 7% or 8% of those in World War II are still alive. I’m one of the lucky ones.

ADVICE FOR INVESTORS: For old investors, don’t take any risks. If they lose the money, they can never earn it again. I don’t believe in taking undue risks. You can do that when you’re young and have a long career of earning money ahead of you, but not once you get into your late 50s. And for young investors, don’t buy commodity stocks. I think commodity stocks are in a bubble.

BIGGEST BUBBLE: Gold, obviously. I don’t know if you can call gold a commodity, because it isn’t. It’s nothing. It doesn’t have any particular application. And when I see that everybody is investing in gold through exchange-traded funds and derivatives and God knows what, it scares the hell out of me. It really is not a proxy for money. I dare anyone to go into a grocery store with an ounce of gold in his hot little fist.

HOW I WOULD INVEST A $100,000 WINDFALL: I would buy a nice piece of art. If you really know something about art, you make more money with it than with many other things. I would go for Canadian art, since I live in Canada. I would look for a young artist with a really great gift, and make sure I have a trained eye. When I was younger, in the 1950s and 1960s, I bought paintings for $300 which are probably worth $150,000 now. I still own them.

Přidat.eu záložku

Guru

Warren Buffett's True Investment Strategy

08.06.2011 22:37
Warren Buffett's True Investment Strategy Prepare to be shocked (or at least I hope to shock you). This is Warren Buffett’s investment strategy. I hate to break this to you, but Warren Buffett has been lying to the public for years, all the while putting on a straight face. This is how Warren...

Invest like a legend: Stephen Jarislowsky

05.06.2011 21:23
Invest like a legend: Stephen Jarislowsky FIRST INVESTMENT: It was in stocks, when I was in business school after the war. Reynolds Metals went up very sharply, and then for a long time did nothing. Abbott Laboratories went up year after year, and increased the dividend. United Airlines went up and...

Akcie Akcie CZ - Jak vydělat peníze na burze? Pokud se zajímáte o to, jak vydělat peníze na burze, Akcie CZ jsou určeny právě pro vás! Akcie a burziani Akcie online! Akcie Komodity Akcie Komodity - Investiční poradenství pro firmy a movité privátní klienty Aktuální seznam pojišťoven a seznam zdravotních pojišťoven najdete na seznamu www stránek Burza online! Fórum pro investice Hedge fond - První český web o hedge fondech Hedge fondy se snaží o absolutní výnos nezávislý na obecném ekonomickém vývoji a vývoji kapitálových trhů Hledáte investora či projekt k investování? Obojí najdete na Investoři.net Chcete prodat či koupit firmu? Hledáte investora pro váš projekt? Vše najdete na Investoři.net iAkcie Investice do akcií Investice do komodit Investice do zlata Investiční poradenství pro firmy a movité osoby Investoři - Fórum pro podnikatele a byznys anděly Investování pro začátečníky Investování pro ženy Jak vydělat peníze na burze Komodity pro začátečníky Magazín pro muže Nejlepší české blogy Nemovitosti online! Obchodníci s CP Osobnosti a vůdci Poradce Povinné ručení SEO blogy Seznam fakultních nemocnic Seznam nemocnic Seznam pojišťoven Seznam www Seznam zdravotních pojišťoven ToChciVedet.Cz Top 44 SEO blogs Visit Czech Republic! Vrchol - "Nejčtenější blog o financích v ČR i SK" Vyhladavanie Zprávy online! Mini WarrenBuffett.cz - aneb jak vydělat na burze miliony Články o investování Zajímáte se o to, které jsou nejlepší firmy v ČR a EU? Sledujte Top Firmy! Ženská stránka Ženy pro ženy 1.zprávy

© 2010 - 2011 Stocks Commodities.eu All rights reserved Chraňte si Vaši pověst na internetu. Server je součástí sítě CZECHNET.